‘Kapamilya’ talents rule PMPC Star Awards for Movies

Artists from Kapamilya (ABS-CBN 2) dominated the winners’ circle for this year’s movie press awards held recently at the Resorts World Manila’s Newport Performing Arts Theater.

Star Cinema, the film arm of ABS-CBN 2.ruled the best picture award for “Ang Tanging Ina Mo, Last Na ‘To,” including the best director (Wenn Deramas), actress (Ai Ai de las Alas), supporting actress (Eugene Domingo), editing (Marya Ignacio) and child performer (Xyriel Manabat who tied with Timothy Chan of “Here Comes the Bride”).

Another ABS-CBN talent, Coco Martin, won best actor for “Noy,” while veteran star Tirso Cruz III won best supporting actor for “Sigwa.”

The award for best newcomer was shared by a Kapuso (Carla Abellana for “Shake, Rattle & Roll XII”) and a Kapamilya (Martin del Rosario for “Dagim”).

Four trophies were awarded to the musical film “Emir” for best movie screenplay (Jerry Gracio), cinematography (Neil Daza), musical score (Josefino Toledo) and theme song (Gary Granada’s “Bakit Ako Naririto”).

Cinemalaya took the lead in the digital film category with its entry, “Sigwa” winning best digital movie, director (Joel Lamangan), cinematography (Monino Duque), editing (Bebs Gohetia), production design (Edgar Martin Littaua) and sound (Alfredo Ongleo).

Other winners in the digital section were Jerrold Tarog, best screenplay and musical score for the digital film “Senior Year” and best digital theme song “Tarima” for Sherwyn Castillo’s “Napapagod Din ang Puso.”

TV5’s Studio 5 and Cinemabuhay ‘s “Rosario,” won best production design (Joey Luna and Miki Hahn).while the best sound went to Lamberto Casas Jr. in the film “Punerarya” episode of “Shake 12.”

Regal Films producer Lily Monteverde and actor Christopher de Leon were honored with the lifetime achievement award.

The awards were given by the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) for the 27th year.